Skip to content

That Lost Yesterday

November 20, 2010
Today your reflection appeared
in my mind so suddenly that it startled me
 
Your unexpected presence surprised
and overwhelmed me simultaneously
with a delightful mixture of long forgotten
but very intense feelings and emotions
 
I clearly felt the warmth of your smile
as I closed my eyes to take in your deliciously familiar scent
and then I gently pulled you out from that secret holding place
in the center of my soul where only you reside
 
At that moment your heart sat next to mine
and the loud sound of its powerful pounding gave me goose bumps…
I shuddered as I hugged myself
but if felt more like your arms around me
than my own
 
I slowly reminisced on thoughts of you
and I said your name out loud
just to break the silence
and delight in the sound of it again…
As if voicing your name to the wind
would really bring you back to my world
 
Then I stopped to recognized the value
of your presence in my life
while I relived the joyous moments you brought my way
feeling only gratitude for what was
and not lamenting what is no more…
 
And then I returned to my daily doings
Thinking that you would go back to where you are
So far away from me…
But you stayed there
standing to my left
warming my soul with heat of your breath
revitalizing my being with your laughter…
And loving me passionately
Just like you did in
That lost yesterday….
Monica Garcia Saenz © 2010
12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 11:38 am

    what a beautiful lost and found love or passion.
    Glad to see you smile,
    I read and love every word of it.

    thanks for sharing with poets rally.
    Have fun!
    🙂

  2. November 20, 2010 1:26 pm

    Such passion communicated. Well done!

    JP

    http://tasithoughts.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/thankfulness/

  3. November 20, 2010 3:12 pm

    What i liked about this poem was the story it carrid.. adds to the passion of reading.. and doesnt leave U avguely sauntering.. wonderful word sketches 🙂

  4. November 20, 2010 7:48 pm

    This is beautiful. Struck a chord with me for loves both lost to this life and the next. Thank you.

  5. November 20, 2010 10:25 pm

    Those moments are so powerful…a remembered kiss… caress… scent… and just when you think the remembering is over… it continues. Well done!

  6. November 21, 2010 7:42 am

    yeah.. this was nice.. there was a story to it, and it was told passionately 🙂 loved it.

    My Entry For The Poet’s Rally Is Here

  7. November 22, 2010 2:54 pm

    A very powerful and passionate poem… 🙂

  8. November 22, 2010 8:21 pm

    very nice – I like how you shared your passion through this poem!

  9. November 23, 2010 4:38 am

    Beautiful poem..

    I loved these lines very much.

    “gently pulled you out from that secret holding place
    in the center of my soul where only you reside”

Trackbacks

  1. Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally week 33 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  2. Thursday Poets Rally Week 33 (November 18-24) | Jingle
  3. The Perfect Poetry 4 All (Highlight of Poets Rally Week 33) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

